

News Release

WRIGHT-HENNEPIN AWARDS \$28,600 IN SCHOLARSHIPS TO LOCAL STUDENTS

Rockford, Minn. (June 3, 2019) — Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association (WH) has awarded \$28,600 in scholarships to 21 local students to help them continue their education.

Joined by their families, recipients received the scholarships at a ceremony on May 23 at WH's headquarters in Rockford. WH began awarding scholarships to local students in 1988. Now in its 32nd year, the cooperative has awarded almost \$738,000.

The scholarship fund was created after a state law was passed allowing unclaimed capital credits to be put into an education fund. In addition to unclaimed capital credits, contributions were made from the Wright-Hennepin Holding Company. This allows WH to invest in the area's youth without impacting electric rates.

WH local school scholarship

WH awards scholarships to students whose parent/guardian is a WH member. WH provides one scholarship to each school in its electric service area for an outstanding student pursuing higher education. WH also offers one "at-large" scholarship for students who attend private schools or schools that neighbor WH's electric service territory. The following recipients received a WH local school scholarship:

Kallie Sylvester, Annandale HS Perrin Thompson, Buffalo HS Katelyn Lee, Dassel-Cokato HS Sara Hartley, Delano HS Morgan Millar, Heritage Christian Academy Brook Lorenson, Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted HS Emma Landers, Maple Grove HS

Wyatt Jacobs, Maple Lake HS
Shawn Sellner, Monticello HS
Alexander Stevens, Orono HS
Annie McGuire, Osseo HS
Jade Ellis, Rockford HS
Anna Bergman, Rogers HS
Courtney Bissen, St. Michael-Albertville HS
Thaddius Kowalke, Watertown-Mayer HS
Michael North, Wayzata HS
Matthew Neumann, Wright Technical Center
Spencer Volkert, Armstrong HS (at-large scholarship)

Edward R. Slebiska Memorial Lineworker Scholarship

Each year, the Edward R. Slebiska Scholarship is awarded in the name of the cooperative's first CEO to individuals planning to become electric line workers. During his time as CEO, Slebiska helped the cooperative bring reliable and affordable electricity to rural Wright County and Western Hennepin County. The recipients of the 2019 Edward R. Slebiska Memorial Line Worker Scholarship are Samuel Hedtke, Monticello HS and Chad Pillatzki, Wadena Technical School.

Basin Electric Scholarship

Basin Electric Power Cooperative annually awards a scholarship to its distribution cooperative members. Basin is one of WH's wholesale power suppliers, and is headquartered in Bismarck, N.D. The recipient of this year's Basin Electric Scholarship is Allison Zipp of St. Michael.

Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association is a member-owned, not-for-profit electric utility that provides power to rural Wright County and western Hennepin County. The cooperative has been a corporate citizen to the area since 1937 and currently serves more than 50,000 electric accounts. It is headquartered in Rockford, Minn.



The 2019 Wright-Hennepin scholarship recipients posed for a photo with WH's Board of Directors. Back row (from left): Thaddius Kowalke, Watertown-Mayer HS, Alexander Stevens, Orono HS, Shawn Sellner, Monticello HS, Samuel Hedtke, Monticello HS, Chad Pillatzki, Wadena Technical School, Matthew Neumann, Wright Technical Center, Wyatt Jacobs, Maple Lake HS. Middle row (from left): Sara Hartley, Delano HS, Morgan Millar, Heritage Christian Academy, Annie McGuire, Osseo HS, Perrin Thompson, Buffalo HS, Emma Landers, Maple Grove HS, Allison Zipp, St Michael, Brook Lorenson, Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted HS, Courtney Bissen, St. Michael-Albertville HS. Not pictured: Kallie Sylvester, Annandale HS, Katelyn Lee, Dassel-Cokato HS, Jade Ellis, Rockford HS, Anna Bergman, Rogers HS, Michael North, Wayzata HS, Spencer Volkert, Holy Spirit Academy (at-large scholarship). Front row (from left): Timothy Young, District 1, Casey Whelan, District 8, Kenneth Hiebel, District 7, Mike Tieva, District 6, Burton Horsch, District 3, Dale Jans, District 4, Chris Lantto, District 5, Duane "Butch" Lindenfelser, District 2, Erick Heinz, District 9.